A science experiment

Let me preface this by saying (and this will come as a surprise to no-one who knows me) I am not a patient person. I want what I want when I want it, or sooner, but never later. It’s that part of my personality that made me try a science experiment yesterday. A science experiment with my newly shorn, proudly graying hair.

Here’s the thing: I don’t actually want my hair to be any shorter than it is right now, but at this point it’s about 1/3 natural (gray) and 2/3 dyed (brown), and when I decided to go gray, I wanted to be done with the brown and just gray already.  I did some research on the internets and read about Vitamin C to remove hair dye. I figured the worst thing that could happen would be that it wouldn’t work. So I gave it  a shot. The formula for this method is that you take a bunch of vitamin C tablets grind them up in some way (hitting with a hammer is what some people recommend; I used my Magic Bullet smoothie maker, which died in the process, incidentally) and mix them with a clarifying shampoo into a paste (I used a Suave shampoo that removes buildup). Then you get your hair a little damp, glop the paste on, rub it in to make sure that every millimeter of hair is covered in goop, and then let it sit for an hour or so (some people do longer) while your head is wrapped in a shower cap or saran wrap, or something to keep the heat in.

I did just that, and the end result was absolutely no change in the color of my dyed hair. Not an iota. Per my searching, this method is actually best suited for semipermanent color or permanent color that’s been put on recently (like within 72 hours) and is too dark. Supposedly the vitamin C breaks the bond between the hair and the dye.

Like I said, it didn’t work on my hair, which has permanent dye on it which was most recently applied 6 weeks ago. But my hair did not get fried (I conditioned the ever-loving snot out of it after I rinsed out the paste), and I had to know for myself if it would work. Now that I know the only way for me to be insta-gray is basically to shave my head (or take the clipper guard to maybe a #2), I’m much more able to wait and let it happen on its own. I admire women who stop dying but don’t cut their hair short when they make the decision to go natural. I just can’t see me waiting 18 months to 2 years for the process to be complete, which is about the average amount of time it seems to take. That kind of patience takes a lifetime to develop, and I never tried to develop it before.

On the weight loss front, I’m going with Paul McKenna’s book, I Can Make You Thin. Maybe not the tapping, but the 4 golden rules of his, and I’m listening to the CD every night. It’s taking some conscious effort right now to follow the rules and really think about how hungry I actually am (and whether or not I’m hungry or just bored), but today, it was easier than yesterday, and it’s starting to already become a habit every hour or so to rate my hunger on a scale of 1-10.

Change One lost me in the first chapter, before I even really got anywhere by telling me to put artificial sweetener in my coffee. I didn’t give up Diet Coke because I hate it (I love and miss it); I gave it up because I’m not eating artificial sweetener anymore for any reason. Working on saying the same for High Fructose Corn Syrup. I avoid it as much as possible, but that stuff is sneaky, and I don’t always know when it’s in something. I’m reading more labels now and not buying stuff that has it.

Another reason Change One is going back to the library is that their suggested calorie counts are seriously low; the Lose It app that I have that is just a calorie counter program allows me about 600 more per day because it takes into account what I weigh currently and not just my gender. There’s no way I will stay on a plan of 1300 calories per day. Physically I probably could, but I know that I won’t.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

About Connie Race

Living in the Pacific Northwest, emptying the nest, single, overweight, allowing myself to be naturally gray (no more dye jobs), and working on a career change. Obviously, this calls for a new blog in which I reinvent myself at 49. (Except now I'm 51, yikes)
This entry was posted in Hair, Weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A science experiment

  1. Diana Philpot says:

    Good on you! You know what works and what doesn’t for you. I wish I had more experience with that, personally. As for Change One’s artificial sweetener, our dietician-instructor said NO! Stevia is all we’re allowed. I’m OK with that; Tom’s been on stevia for a year or more. The 1300 calories were a bit low for me in the beginning, but with exercise I can eat what keeps me feeling full. Thankfully!

    • Connie says:

      I tried some stevia, and I didn’t like the taste. I also didn’t like that most things sold as stevia (i.e., Truvia), are mostly erythritol which is another highly processed corn product. I’ve cut back, but I use real sugar or sometimes succanat. Mostly of the organic variety.

Leave a Reply

