Does the Internet really need another blog like this?

There are lots of transformation blogs out there in internet land, but I haven’t seen one like this before. A blog in which our heroine (me) is transitioning from dyeing her hair to going gray while contemplating how she’s going to lose 100 lbs (give or take), change careers and stop working from home, and maybe possibly get laid.

Therefore, this is that blog.

I made the first gray step yesterday. Actually I made the first step last week when I decided I was sick of coloring my hair. I made the decision that at my already scheduled cut and color appointment (I’ve been on a six week schedule for a couple of years but it really wasn’t quite often enough), I would only be getting a cut. In the spirit of consideration, I got in touch with my stylist to let her know, and I also got in touch with the salon so they could change the time block from cut and color to cut only so that my stylist wouldn’t have empty time when she could get another client in and hopefully make some money. This is immediately before I left for the salon, see the skunk stripe of doom?

Image

I came home with the cut you see below. It’s basically the pixie that Jamie Lee Curtis rocks. I’ve worn my hair this short before (very notably bleached blonde a few years ago), so I wasn’t afraid of the “supa short.” I know it looks good on my face.  See?

Image

So this is step one. The short and spiky actually hides the line of demarcation pretty well, and I’m now up to an every 4-week schedule but for cut only. I’ll keep that up until all the gray is out, hopefully by my 49th birthday in late November, and then we’ll see what kind of salon schedule I’ll need to follow after that.

In the meantime, I have a ton of hair product (on me, the shorter the hair, the more fun I have putting stuff in it), and I’ll be on the search for the perfect lipstick. I’ve not worn a lot of lipstick in the past but I know that I need it when the hair around my face is lighter. Without it, I look both tired and angry. And that’s just not good.

About Connie Race

Living in the Pacific Northwest, emptying the nest, single, overweight, allowing myself to be naturally gray (no more dye jobs), and working on a career change. Obviously, this calls for a new blog in which I reinvent myself at 49. (Except now I'm 51, yikes)
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does the Internet really need another blog like this?

  1. Diana Philpot says:

    This calls for some David Bowie. “Ch-ch-ch-changes!” Yea, YOU!

Leave a Reply

